Search
Close this search box.

Tutzing

Tutzing introduces itself

The first documented mention of the village was in 742, when it was donated to the Benediktbeuern Monastery. The name Tutzing comes from the family Tozzi and Tuzzo from the noble family of Huosi. This indicates that the place existed already in the 6th century. After the Tuzzinger family had died out, the Munich patrician family of the Dichtl acquired the place around 1480.

Today, about 10,000 people live in the municipality of Tutzing, making it the largest municipality on Lake Starnberg after the county seat of Starnberg, and it has a considerable area of just under 36 km┬▓.

Tutzing is the terminus of an S-Bahn line from Munich as well as a stop for trains to and from Garmisch-Partenkirchen and Kochel. On weekends, Tutzing is a stop for ICE trains to and from Dortmund and Hamburg, as well as to Werdenfelser Land.

In the resort town of Tutzing, you will find everything you need for your daily needs and beyond, from grocery stores to antique stores to boutiques. Stroll past toy and jewelry displays with a delicious Italian ice cream.
Take some time out and visit a cosmetic institute, the perfumery or over a longer period of time a seminar for further education. Get some vacation reading and a special bottle of wine for a nice evening. Enjoy the hustle and bustle not only at the lake, but also within the town with a cup of coffee or a good meal in the many international restaurants. Get inspired by florists and interior designers. Helpful opticians and auto mechanics are on hand to offer advice and assistance should a mishap occur during your stay.

Medical care is very good. In addition to many physicians in private practice, there is the Benedictus Hospital, which enjoys an excellent reputation far beyond Tutzing’s borders. Since 2020, Tutzing has also been home to a private acute care clinic for psychiatric disorders.

In the peripheral areas, the villa character of the village has been preserved and offers the image of a green park landscape from the lake. With its extensive lakeside promenades, Tutzing is a real jewel among the towns on Lake Starnberg. The parks stretch for several kilometers directly on the lake shore. All these parks have in common that here you can enjoy a spectacular view of the alpine panorama. These facilities are easily accessible on foot along largely car-free paths.

Both the Protestant Academy Tutzing and the Academy for Political Education set national accents in ethical as well as political education from Tutzing.

The local motherhouse of the Missionary Benedictine Sisters, from which the missionary sisters are sent to many countries of the world, has made Tutzing internationally known.

Tutzing

Tutzing stellt sich vor

Die erste urkundliche Erwähnung des Ortes erfolgte 742 durch eine Schenkung an das Kloster Benediktbeuern. Der Name Tutzing stammt von der Familie Tozzi und Tuzzo aus dem Adelsgeschlecht der Huosi. Das deutet darauf hin, dass der Ort bereits im 6. Jahrhundert bestand. Nachdem das Geschlecht der Tuzzinger ausgestorben war, erwarb das Münchner Patriziergeschlecht der Dichtl um 1480 den Ort.

Heute wohnen in der Gemeinde Tutzing ca. 10.000 Menschen, und so ist sie nach der Kreisstadt Starnberg die größte Gemeinde am Starnberger See und hat mit knapp 36 km² flächenmäßig eine beachtliche Ausdehnung.

Tutzing ist Endstation einer S-Bahnlinie von München sowie Haltestelle der Züge von und nach Garmisch-Partenkirchen und Kochel. An den Wochenenden ist Tutzing eine Station für ICE-Züge von und nach Dortmund und Hamburg sowie ins Werdenfelser Land.

Im Urlaubsort Tutzing finden Sie alles, was Sie für den täglichen Bedarf und darüber hinaus benötigen, von Lebensmittel- über Antiquitätenläden bis hin zu Boutiquen. Bummeln Sie mit einem köstlichen italienischen Eis an Spielwaren- und Schmuckauslagen vorbei.
Nehmen Sie sich eine Auszeit und besuchen ein Kosmetikinstitut, die Parfümerie oder über einen längeren Zeitraum ein Seminar zur Weiterbildung. Besorgen Sie sich eine Urlaubslektüre und eine besondere Flasche Wein für einen schönen Abend. Genießen Sie nicht nur am See, sondern auch innerorts das Treiben bei einer Tasse Kaffee oder einem guten Essen in den vielen internationalen Restaurants. Lassen Sie sich von Blumenläden und Raumausstattern inspirieren. Hilfsbereite Optiker und Automechaniker stehen Ihnen mit Rat und Tat zur Seite, sollte Ihnen bei Ihrem Aufenthalt ein Malheur passieren.

Die medizinische Versorgung ist sehr gut. Außer vielen niedergelassenen Ärzten gibt es das Benedictus Krankenhaus, das einen hervorragenden Ruf weit über Tutzings Grenzen hinaus genießt. Seit 2020 befindet sich in Tutzing auch eine private Akutklinik für psychiatrische Erkrankungen.

In den Randbereichen ist der Villencharakter des Ortes erhalten geblieben und bietet vom See das Bild einer grünen Parklandschaft. Mit seinen weitläufigen See-Promenaden ist Tutzing ein echtes Juwel unter den Orten am Starnberger See. Über mehrere Kilometer erstrecken sich die Parkanlagen direkt am Seeufer. Allen diesen Parks ist gemeinsam, dass Sie hier einen spektakulären Blick auf das Alpenpanorama genießen können. Diese Anlagen sind gut zu Fuß auf weitgehend autofreien Wegen zu erreichen.

Sowohl die Evangelische Akademie Tutzing als auch die Akademie für Politische Bildung setzen von Tutzing aus überregionale Akzente in der ethischen wie auch politischen Bildung.

Das hiesige Mutterhaus der Missionsbenediktinerinnen, von dem die Missionsschwestern in viele Länder der Erde ausgesandt werden, hat Tutzing international bekannt gemacht.