Search
Close this search box.

Rose Island

At a glance

Rose Island, 82335 Feldafing

Excursion destination, Museum, Historical

Marriage on the island

On the western shore of Lake Starnberg lies the Rose Island.

Ceramic – findings indicate that Rose Island was inhabited as early as 4,600 BC. With the Late Neolithic pile dwellings, Roseninsel represents the evidence for the existence of prehistoric lakeside settlements in the Bavarian Prealps.

Unique are the Iron Age palisades and sill frame constructions from the waters off the northern tip of Roseninsel, where they have been researched since 2002.Roseninsel is protected by the Bavarian Monument Protection Act, the buffer zone is interpreted as an archaeological presumption area and at the same time it is of special importance as a bird sanctuary. After all, Lake Starnberg is a Ramsar site of international importance.

The Bavarian King Max II had his eye on the island and planned to set up a Maximilianeum there, but this was then located in Munich. In 1850 the king bought the island and wanted to create a quiet summer residence. For this purpose, he commissioned the architect Franz Jakob Kreuter to design a royal villa in the Pompeian style. Subsequently, the park on the island, as well as the park on the shore below Feldafing were designed by garden director Lenn├ę.

The rose garden with an impressive white-blue glass column surrounded by hundreds of tall fragrant roses gave the island its present name. Ludwig II took advantage of the secluded location and met there with Richard Wagner and the Russian tsarina Maria Alexandrovna, among others. Sisi also enjoyed being a guest on Roseninsel, having spent her youth in nearby Possenhofen Palace.

Today, a barge crosses from the bell jetty to the island from May to October and is available to the public. Rose Island is well accessible for people with strollers and wheelchair users. Bicycling and dogs are not allowed.

Numerous marriages take place in the casino every summer.

Address

Rose Island

82335 Feldafing
Germany

Tel: +49 (0)8151 971865
Email: post@foerderkreis-roseninsel.de
Internet: www.foerderkreis-roseninsel.de

You are currently viewing a placeholder content from Google Maps. To access the actual content, click the button below. Please note that doing so will share data with third-party providers.

More Information

Roseninsel

Auf einen Blick

Roseninsel, 82335 Feldafing

Ausflugsziel, Museum, Historisch

Heiraten auf der Insel

Am Westufer des Starnberger Sees liegt die Roseninsel.

Keramik – Funde deuten darauf hin, dass die Roseninsel schon ab 4.600 v. Chr. bewohnt war. Mit den jungneolithischen Pfahlbauten stellt die Roseninsel den Beleg für die Existenz prähistorischer Seeufersiedlungen in den bayerischen Voralpen dar.

Einzigartig sind die eisenzeitlichen Palisaden und Schwellrahmenkonstruktionen aus den Gewässern vor der Nordspitze der Roseninsel, wo sie seit 2002 erforscht werden.Durch das Bayerische Denkmalschutzgesetz ist die Roseninsel geschützt, die Pufferzone wird als archäologisches Vermutungsgebiet interpretiert und gleichzeitig ist es als Vogelschutzgebiet von besonderer Bedeutung. Ist doch der Starnberger See ein Ramsar-Gebiet von internationaler Bedeutung.

Der bayerische König Max II. hatte ein Auge auf die Insel geworfen und plante, dort ein Maximilianeum einzurichten, das wurde dann aber doch in München untergebracht. 1850 kaufte der König die Insel und wollte sich ein ruhiges Sommerdomizil schaffen. Dazu beauftragte er den Architekten Franz Jakob Kreuter mit einer königlichen Villa im pompejanischen Stil. Anschließend wurde die Parkanlage auf der Insel, sowie der Park am Ufer unterhalb Feldafings von Gartendirektor Lenné gestaltet.

Das Rosengärtchen mit einer beeindruckenden weiß-blauen Glassäule umgeben von hunderten von hochstämmigen Duftrosen gab der Insel ihren heutigen Namen. Ludwig II. nutzte den abgeschiedenen Ort und traf sich dort unter anderem mit Richard Wagner und der russischen Zarin Maria Alexandrowna. Sisi war auch gerne Gast auf der Roseninsel, hatte sie doch ihre Jugend in dem nahe gelegenen Schloss Possenhofen verbracht.

Heute setzt eine Zille vom Glockensteg ab Mai bis Oktober zur Insel über und steht der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung.  Die Roseninsel ist gut für Personen mit Kinderwagen und Rollstuhlfahrer zugänglich. Fahrrad fahren und Hunde sind nicht erlaubt.

Im Casino finden jeden Sommer zahlreiche Eheschließungen statt.

 

Adresse

Roseninsel

82335 Feldafing
Deutschland

Tel: +49 (0)8151 971865
Email: post@foerderkreis-roseninsel.de
Internet: www.foerderkreis-roseninsel.de

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden